Board of Directors

AORE's Board of Directors serve as volunteers for the Association and is elected by the membership. They are practitioners, academics and supporters who have a vested interest in protecting and advancing the profession of outdoor recreation and education. AORE is a grass-roots, non-bureaucratic organization with an agenda developed by the membership.

Lance Haynie
Board President
University of Georgia

Jeremy Oyen
Board President Elect
REI Outdoor Programs and Outreach

Bryan Karban
Board Treasurer
University of Minnesota

Kellie Gerbers
Board Secretary
University of Georgia

Genevieve Marchand
Humboldt State University

Tom Adams
Governer's Office of Economic Development

Eric Frauman
Appalachian State University

Nathan Williams
North Carolina State University


Donald Schmit
Student Representative
University of Nebraska at Omaha

Eric Neumann

Russ Watts
Past Board President
Watts Group Coaching & Consulting

Mitch Hoffman
University of Minnesota

Brian Shirley
Ex officio Member


Benefits of Becoming a Board Member

Being on the Board of Directors to a national professional organization has many benefits. Here are some of the highlights:

If you are interested in applying to be on the Board of Directors or would like more information please contact Board President Elect, Jeremy Oyen Applications can be submitted at this link.