Board of Directors

AORE's Board of Directors serve as volunteers for the Association and is elected by the membership. They are practitioners, academics and supporters who have a vested interest in protecting and advancing the profession of outdoor recreation and education. AORE is a grass-roots, non-bureaucratic organization with an agenda developed by the membership.
 

Lance Haynie
Board President
University of Georgia
lhaynie@uga.edu

Jeremy Oyen
Board President Elect
REI Outdoor Programs and Outreach
joyen@rei.com

Bryan Karban
Board Treasurer
University of Minnesota
bkarban@umn.edu

Kellie Gerbers
Board Secretary
University of Georgia
kgerbers@uga.edu

Genevieve Marchand
Humboldt State University
gm923@humboldt.edu

Tom Adams
Governer's Office of Economic Development
tomadams@utah.gov

Eric Frauman
Appalachian State University
fraumaned@appstate.edu

Nathan Williams
North Carolina State University
nathan_williams@ncsu.edu

 

Donald Schmit
Graduate Assistant, Adventure Programs
Washington State University
donald.schmit@wsu.edu

Eric Neumann
Accenture
eric.j.neumann@accenture.com

Russ Watts
Past Board President
Watts Group Coaching & Consulting
russwatts68@gmail.com

Mitch Hoffman
University of Minnesota
mitch@umn.edu

Brian Shirley
Ex officio Member
brianmshirley@gmail.com

 

Benefits of Becoming a Board Member

Being on the Board of Directors to a national professional organization has many benefits. Here are some of the highlights:


Wondering what being on the Board entails? Read more about general Board positions here and our Student Board position here.

Open Board Positions:


If you are interested in applying to be on the Board of Directors or would like more informationm please contact Board President Elect Jeremy Oyen at joyen@rei.com. Applications can be submitted at this link.